What is Meridian (経絡)?

A meridian is an entry to the ‘energy highway’ of the human body. Ki energy flows through these pathways, accessing all parts of the body. Meridians can be mapped throughout the body; they flow within the body and not on the surface. Meridians exist in corresponding pairs and each meridian has many Shiatsu points along its path.

The term ‘meridian’ describes the overall energy flow of Oriental Medicine and helps us to understand how basic substances of the Ki energy,  blood circulation, and body fluids penetrate the whole body. The individual meridians themselves are often described as flowing energy, blood, and body fluids.

We place our hands to release and increase the energy flow of each meridian.

The 12 standard meridians are:

1) Lung Meridian2) Large Intestine Meridian

3) Stomach Meridian

4) Spleen Meridian

5) Heart Meridian

6) Small Intestine Meridian

7) Bladder Meridian

8) Kidney Meridian

9) Heart Constrictor Meridian

10) Triple Heater Meridian

11) Gall Bladder Meridian

12) Liver Meridian