What are tsubos (壺)?

The acupuncture--or acupressure—points, called “tsubo," lie along the fourteen meridian systems (twelve basic systems and two control systems) that extend over the entire body and to the internal organs. Though invisible to the eye, these points, or tsubo are the locations at which it is easy for the flow of energy in the systems to slow down, becoming sluggish and stagnant. When the energy flow slows down in the systems associated with organs, malfunctions occur. When there is an imbalance in the Zo or Fu organs, it is manifested in the tsubo in many different ways: pain, numbness, a sense of pressure, stiffness, chills, flushing, spots, small discolorations, depositions of pigment (freckles and so on), and peculiarities in the electrical charge of the skin

The Taoist view of man as a microcosmic representation of the universe, the Confucian edicts of social form and propriety, and the observation of and dependence on nature characteristic of society are reflected in Traditional Chinese medicine as a whole, and specifically in the selection of tusbo names.  Tsubo names are taken from…

 1. Geographical landmarks: river, pond, lake and ocean

 2. Topographic features: mountain, hill

 3. Location between muscle and bones; e.g. a Valley

 4. Architectural features: a gathering ki place may be like an architectural gate, palace, mansion or house

 5. Roads: Ki route, passageway

 6. Astronomy, meteorology

 7. Animals and flowers

 8. Physiological function, etc.